My First Go With Acrylics

Posted on Wed 27 Apr 2016

Hi all

Following on from my last blog where I said I would share my new experiences with acrylics I decided to bite the bullet today and ‘have a go’. I recently enrolled on Glyn Macey’s online tutorial workshop and after studying a couple of his demos I decided to tackle his painting of ‘Crown Mines’.

I watched it through first to get a feel for the subject and thoroughly enjoyed his lively presentation of a subject I’ve always been a bit wary of. Second run through following the demo I actually stood up to paint! Now this is not me at all. I usually sit in a nice comfy chair while I ponder my next brushstrokes. The speed of the acrylics drying forced me to change my approach completely. I painted in a more animated and fluid way and a lot looser than I normally do. Consequently, half a roll of kitchen roll later, I was done. In just over an hour I’d produced the picture below. I’m quite pleased with the result for a first attempt and my Wife now wants this one framed for our ever expanding gallery.

I really enjoyed the experience and I’m now deciding on my next subject.

Bye for now.

Pete

Crown Mines. Botallack
Crown Mines. Botallack. Acrylic on Galeria paper. 16″x12″.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lizbeth says:

    Framed and proudly hanging on the wall, love the sea and colours in the cliffs

    Like

Leave a Reply

