Sketching in Bude….

I managed to get out for a few hours today, sketching in Bude. The first effort is a pen and wash of ‘The Pink House’ which is situated by the sea lock at Budehaven. It gave me a chance to try out my new travel brushes (see my last blog)… Well one of them anyway. After the initial ink sketch I used the squirrel mop brush for the whole wash thingy. It’s a brilliant brush, beautifully points and carries a lot of water/paint. It took me about 1 1/2 hours to complete. That ran me up to lunchtime, then after lunch I did a quick sketch facing the other way towards the visitor centre. Not completely finished, but enough to work with, supported by a few photos. The weather is supposed to be good tomorrow as well so I might set out early and get some sketching done at Widemouth Bay before my art group meets. All in all, a reasonably successful day. 

Happy painting
Pete

Leave a Reply

